Skip to content

American College of Health Care Administrators - NY Chapter|ACHCA

Celebrate Our Members Outstanding Achievements with Us!


The American College of Health Care Administrators New York Chapter is excited to announce the 2022 winners of the Chapter’s annual awards, to be presented and celebrated on the evening of June 14, 2022, at the annual convention at Resorts World in Monticello, NY.

The Administrator of the Year award recognizes an Administrator for the talent and professionalism he or she brings to our field. Over the last couple of years, criteria for success are not only for the survey results and resident and family satisfaction, but as importantly the leadership qualities that the person has exhibited through the pandemic and staffing issues that overlay the operation of the facility. This year the award goes to Karen Zobel, CEO/Administrator at The Community at Brookmede in Rhinebeck, NY.

The New Administrator of the Year award recognizes an ACHCA member who has been a practicing administrator for five (5) years or less, and who has demonstrated exceptional commitment and potential in the areas of administrative capability, leadership, innovation, creativity, motivation and attitude, as well as potential for leadership in the College. This year we have regionalized the award due to the large number of nominations received. This year the awards go to Courtney Lyon, Loretto Health care and Rehab in Central NY, Stacy Bastian, Absolute Care of Aurora Park in Western NY, and Rosa Fanelli, Skyview Rehab and Nursing, Downstate NY.

The Hero Award recognizes Administrators that have exhibited exemplary leadership abilities and their staff that have positively impacted residents, staff, families, and community at large during the height of the Covid-19 pandemic. Award submissions demonstrated the unique and special approach that the facility used to show exemplary leadership, implement best-practices, and employ innovative strategies to enhance the quality of life for residents during the pandemic, including restricted visitation solutions. Award winners this year are:

  • Stacy Bastian and the staff of Absolute Care of Arora Park, East Aurora NY – Western NY Region
  • Greg Chambery and the staff of Maplewood Nursing Home, Webster NY – Finger Lakes Region
  • Richard Sweet-Keech and the staff of Absolute at Three Rivers, Painted Post NY – Southern Tier Region
  • Frank Yeboah and the staff of Teresian House, Albany NY – Capitol Region
  • Susan O’Connor and the staff of Midway Nursing Home, Maspeth, NY – NYC Region
  • Eric Kalt and the staff of Dominican Village, Amityville, NY – Long Island Region

The Ralph Barron Award is an award that is made to allow for targeted funding of knowledge enhancing projects that are not part of traditional academic programs, e.g. seminars, conferences, research activities, etc. The award can be for work already completed (retroactive) or for purposes that will be implemented 3-6 months in the future (proactive). This year there are 2 awards:

  • Kellyann Byrne of David King Center for Nursing
  • Sara Sidibe of New York Congregational Nursing Home

Thank you to the all the facilities that submitted nominations for the awards. Your willingness to be recognized is a testament and an inspiration to the health care professionals that ACHCA represents. Finally, a thank you to the Awards Committee (Lowell Feldman, Frank Yeboah, Barbara McFadden, Kelly DeJesus, Bruce Zarett, Colin Hart, Justin Schwartz, Mark Sanchez, Eric Kalt, Joseph Peixoto, and Christopher Lynch) who took their time to vet the many nominations that were received.

We hope you will make it a point join us on the evening of June 12 to celebrate the accomplishments of all our award winners.

Powered By GrowthZone
Scroll To Top